Minecraft Articles & Projects

Check out our own Minecraft Project Pharaoh Craft

PharaohCraft

Pharaoh Craft is an educational, Minecraft adventure map with an Egyptian Theme. Collect clues to help you through the puzzles and avoid the traps of the Pyramid of Unas. Click here to find out more.




Minecraft Server Deletes Builds?

WorldOfBoardCraft-minecraft-server-deletes-builds

Recently we were asked the question: if a Minecraft server crashed could it delete a previous day's worth of builds?
We already had a good idea of the answer, however we thought we would contact some official Minecraft Hosting Providers.

Apex Minecraft Hosting told us the following:
"It's called a roll back. Every 5 minutes the server will save, if it doesn't before a crash it will be rolled back to the previous save." 
This means you would only ever lose 5 minutes worth of build time.

Apex also told us that: 
"In some cases it can corrupt a world"
Therefore if you carried out a session and the server crashed causing the world files to corrupt you would know the next time you tried to login as you wouldn't be able to.

It's a good idea to have a backup of your world(s) in case such an event occurs. Most hosting providers have a help section or will be able to advise you on best practices and/or any issues you might have.

Another thing to be wary of is FTPing files/worlds. If you FTP an old world over a newer version this is a more likely case of when you are going to find vast areas or builds missing.

These are all things that very rarely happen and shouldn't be an issue for most however the last thing you want is a group of unhappy Minecrafters refusing to go back onto your server due to their builds going missing.

Have you had any issues with your servers? Let us know in the comments below.


Author: Christopher - World Of Board Craft
Published: 14-Jan-2016
Last updated: 14-Jan-2016 


Comments

Enter your comment below

Enter your email here:
Verification Required*
Your Comment:
Tick this box to confirm you are human